Blog Admin

Why I Started This Blog

This is not the first time I’ve started a blog. Nor is it the first time I’ve started something resembling a journal. But I’m hoping this one sticks.

My past forays into the written word have not panned out due to one simple reason: commitment. I would often begin with the best intentions, but nevertheless would lose steam after a week, a month, etc. That’s not to say that I did not enjoy the process of writing, documenting, reflecting, etc., but I didn’t make it a priority or a habit, and that eventually caught up with me.

This is different. I want this blog to be a combination of many things. First and foremost, a place where I can reflect on the melodrama of my life and try and make sense of everything that is happening in the world. As exciting as that sounds, I do want the bulk of this blog to be where I can discuss the culture I absorb, whether it is books, movies, television, theater, etc. Although the name of the blog lends itself to the written word, I will definitely be expanding beyond that. I’ll also be experimenting with posting samples of my other writings, as well as inviting friends to share their work. Not a melting pot, per se, but a fruit salad, where every kind of writing has its moment in the sun.

Now I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, faceless stranger of the internet, but I haven’t exactly answered the question I started out asking in the title of this post. Why am I doing this? It’s a question with many answers, but the most important reason is I love to write and this is an opportunity to write for more than simply an audience of one.

So join me on this adventure? Don’t worry, it’ll be fun.

Leave a Reply

